Wicked Good Seafood

I’ve made it no secret about the heart problems I struggled with near the end of my pregnancy; the spike in blood pressure, the congestive heart failure, the trauma associated with the event. As I watched my dad also struggle with heart issues, and then diabetes, it became clear that our family seriously needed to add some Omega 3 Fatty Acids into our diet. Or at least, try to.

For months, we tried fighting fish into the diet, scraping it in one, maybe two times a month, and even then, it was lacking. We really didn’t get enjoyment out of fish night, and to be honest, it became something we dreaded.

Zach liked fish just fine. Give him some fish sticks, and he was happy. But it wasn’t that easy for all of us, especially people like my mom, who just simply don’t like the taste of fish.

We tried the store-bought “fresh” fish, and we hopped from frozen brand to frozen brand. Some were better than others, but none of them made us long for fish night.

Until we found one that was good. So good, in fact, that it was wicked good.

That was one of the reasons I was so thrilled to encounter Gorton’s Seafood at BlogHer this year. Around since 1849, Gorton’s kinda seriously knows what they’re doing, and work really hard to put 100% real fish with no fillers into their products, packing it with natural Omega 3.

So when I got the opportunity to have my family sample some Gorton’s products we hadn’t tried yet, we jumped at the opportunity.

I decided to serve up Potato Crunch Fish as a new item to try, along with the Roasted Garlic and Italian Herb that was already in our freezer, and some shrimp for my mom and brother, who just aren’t into fish.

It was easy enough to make– as easy as making fish sticks. But like, grown up, sophisticated fish sticks that taste like adult food. While I liked the Roasted Garlic and Italian Herb fish, I felt it might be better in a recipe instead of just eaten plain. Since we were in a hurry that night to get somewhere, we just enjoyed it plain. I’d like to see it sliced and served in spaghetti for a real Italian dinner.

The shrimp was also great, honestly! I love shrimp, and Jeffrey enjoyed pulling the tails off as he ate.

But then I noticed something.

I would grab a piece of the potato crunch fish. And then I’d go back to grab another… and there were some extras missing. My dad and I were eating it, but then I realized mom and Jeffrey were sneaking it, too!

These self-proclaimed fish loathers were doing the unthinkable… they were stealing. my. fish.

It was honestly that good, guys. It tastes so much of potatoes that it’s great dipped in ketchup. It’s like a french fry and fish hybrid. And it’s delicious. Zach loved it. Mom loved it, and she doesn’t even like fish. Jeffrey loved it. I loved it. Dad couldn’t get enough of it.

It really sealed in my mind that Gorton’s was a brand I felt confident and comfortable in serving my family.

It’s pretty common knowledge that Omega 3 Fatty Acids are really good for heart health, and a lot of people are becoming more aware of how good Omega 3s are for brain development in children, encouraging fish for pregnancy and childhood. The Omega 3s lower cholesterol and blood pressure, too, which are all great benefits. But when I was doing a little research, I found some amazing things that Omega 3s can do that I simply never realized.

Did you know that they can reduce the symptoms of depression, ADHD, and even Alzheimer’s disease? I was shocked to find that out. It also supports good eye health, and even helps lower the risk of certain types of cancer!

I can see, clearly, why it’s important to get those Omega 3s. But I also realized that, as delicious as the potato crunch fish was, it wasn’t enough to encourage fish night 2-3 times per week.

Luckily, Gorton’s has a ton of varieties, like the Skillet Crisp fish in the picture above. The different varieties cater to everyone’s taste, and mean that you can serve fish sticks and mac and cheese one night, and a few nights later have breaded fish sandwiches, then wrap up the week with fish tacos, and no one would be complaining about the amount of fish being served. Half the time, they’d probably barely notice as long as there was a meal on the table.

In my family personally, Gorton’s really helped us make fish night a reality in our house, going from a few times a month to regular fish meals every week. I love knowing that it’s benefiting my dad and I’s health issues, while still tasting good and being something we can enjoy as a whole family.

I want you to be able to try Gorton’s fish, too. That’s why I’m offering a giveaway, which I’ll tell you ALL about below…

but first, I want to tell you a few more things.

First, head over to the Gorton’s website to find plenty of delicious recipes using Gorton’s products. From the website, you can also find coupons and information about products! While you’re on the page, enter the Wicked Good Sweepstakes for a chance to win a family vacation to Boston.

You can also connect with Gorton’s on facebook, twitter, and pinterest.

You can also check out MY pinboard of Wicked Good Stuff that I love.

Without further ado, here are the contest details!

I will select one winner below for the following prize: three $2.00 off coupons for Gorton’s products, 1 adorable Gorton’s-branded ship keychain, an assortment of recipe cards from Gorton’s, and some beautiful postcards. You have exactly 1 week to enter, with the contest closing 10/8/2013 at 11:59 Central time, so enter quick!

You can enter by doing the following:

Comment below telling me why YOU want to add fish to your diet. I’ve shared a lot of reasons above as to why Omega 3s are great in your diet, and there are tons of other reasons to add fish to your diet, from the taste to the social experience to the health benefits. So share your reason in a comment below, and you’re entered to win! Easy-peasy!

Disclosure: I received free fish products from Gorton’s in exchange for an honest review; however, all opinions above are my own.

4 comments

  1. OOOHHHHH I love coupons. I am going over to Gortons and check out their page now. Thanks. The reason we need to add fish to our diet is of course to get healthier.

  2. My husband has lost 75 pounds since February 2013 just by changing his diet. We have added in more fish to have a nice change from chicken all the time and it is a healthier alternative. Fish doesn’t last long in our house 🙂

  3. I am not a fish person but you have convinced me that I need to try it. So the next time I go to the store I will pick up some fish.
    My body thanks you and I hope I will too.

Leave a Reply

