The Belle of Chicago

I just did something that is incredibly huge for me, in terms of my career as a blogger.

I purchased my ticket for BlogHer ’13.

Ever since I started taking blogging seriously as a career, I’ve spent hours upon hours browsing websites offering blog conferences, longing for a chance to go and connect with other bloggers, connect with brands I’m passionate about, learn more about what my blog can really do, how I can be a better writer/photographer/social media guru/whatever. I’ve dreamed about it. I’ve thought about it. And yeah, I’ve spent a lot of time praying about it.

However, it was one of those “look at your wallet. Now back to me. Now back at your wallet. Now back to me. Sadly, your wallet doesn’t have enough money to actually make this a possibility. I mean, how was I going to figure out conference fees, and, of course, the trek to some city my family probably wasn’t interested in going to?

When BlogHer announced that they’d be headed to The Windy City, it acted like family Kryptonite. See, my family has very few travel weaknesses, but we really do like Chicago. It’s filled with educational opportunities and museums for our 12-year-old homeschooler, and it’s filled with fun and excitement for the entire family.

Plus, duh. A blog conference. And not just any conference… THE biggest conference for bloggers.

I still didn’t think there was any way it would ever happen, that I’d buy tickets to a blog conference, but after talking to my mom, who is arguably my biggest support system in the entire world, the one who has really pushed me to continue blogging even when I’m being hard on myself, said “If you make it an option, it will be an option.”

If I bought the ticket, reserved the hotel room, and worked my butt off as best I could, then this really could be a possibility.

 

The ticket has been purchased.

The hotel room is being reserved.

BlogHer is on my radar screen.

Now all I have to do is save up for the other expenses, like the hotel cost and the travel fee, and this is actually happening.

 

See you in Chicago, next July.

___________________________________

If you’re a blogger planning to attend BlogHer, I’d love to hear from you! I am always excited to meet other bloggers out there, and I am looking forward to trying to meet face-to-face in Chicago.

4 comments

  1. I am so happy you have put this in God’s hands and listen to him. If there is anything I can do to help with this just let me know.

Leave a Reply

