Review and Giveaway: Kashi Soft-Baked Chocolate Squares (CLOSED)

I’m a huge fan of most things that Kashi comes out with (have you tried their coconut dark chocolate granola bars? Um, yummy), and I love that they have green, natural foods with lots of hidden benefits to give my kiddo some awesome nutritional boosts without compromising flavor.

This is why I was insanely excited to get accepted to try the new Soft Baked Chocolate Squares, thanks to Kashi and Green Moms Meet.

In case you’ve never heard of Kashi, they’re a company that started with the idea that they would provide foods that tasted great, but didn’t compromise on providing nutrition, so they could help people eat better and feel better about their eating, too. They use a signature blend of seven whole grains, and they have no highly refined sugars or artificial additives and preservatives.

But in terms of these Soft-Baked Squares specifically, I was really intrigued. You guys know me. I love to bake, and one of my favorite foods is a nice, moist, chocolatey, rich brownie. And these squares, see, they’re marketed very similarly, kind of looking and smelling like a brownie, and that’s what I really expect of it.

Any time I get a product test like this, I make sure that my entire family can get in on the sampling. We’re a pretty wide group of individuals, from my mom (not a chocolate fan, but still okay with it sometimes), my dad (he’ll eat anything), my brother (a 12-year-old with pretty clear-cut ideas on what foods he will and won’t eat), our exchange student Nicolas (always willing to try something new), my 14-month-old son (who will try anything, but doesn’t always like everything), and, of course, me.

I set the squares out on the table and encouraged everyone in my family to try one, just saying it was a new brownie-like treat I was given so I could review them. I have found the less information I give them, the better.

The initial reactions?

Well, my dad got up to get a glass of milk, saying it was good, but really needed some milk to help since it was a tad on the dry side.

My mom mentioned that, while she’s not a huge chocolate fan, if she were on a diet and craving chocolate, she would definitely find this to be an okay substitute for that craving.

Nicolas, our exchange student, just kind of hummed his approval.

My son Zach ate several bites of his, then started stealing bites of everyone else’s, which tells me that they were pretty good, in his mind.

My brother said “Um, yuck.” and passed the rest off to Zach.

I decided that my mom was right– in a pinch, these would definitely work for a chocolate craving. I know for sure that after our official taste test, I had a few instances where I was desperate for chocolate and ended up grabbing one of these squares.

Is it just like a brownie? No. It’s not. Is it close enough that if you don’t have brownies, it’s easier to grab one of these than make a batch? Yes.

One of the best things for me was watching how my son devoured the snacks. As an occasional treat, there’s definitely more than meets the eye here, because, in addition to the seven whole grains, fiber, and protein that Kashi snacks use to pack that extra healthy punch, these soft-baked squares also include healthy things like black beans and sweet potatoes.

At only 160 calories per square, they make a pretty good snack, especially considering the special nutritional benefits it has inside. I also love that there are 4g of fiber, because fiber is a great thing for everybody, young and old alike, to have in their diet.

I absolutely believe that I would buy these again, especially if I’m looking for a healthier alternative for a snack. Because I spend a lot of time and energy baking sweets to share with my readers, it’s nice to have a balance of healthy alternatives and eat those, as well, to really even things out. I really like that these are a suitable option for balancing things out, and they taste pretty good, too.

I like that these make me feel a little fuller between meals than if I were to eat a piece of chocolate or two. I appreciate that it really has that extra nutritional punch, and I feel a little better about feeding it to my son when we’re on-the-go. At home, I make sure he has plenty of homemade healthy foods, but I love the idea of having some on-the-go items, too, and this is a great food to feed him when we’re out and about and I need to get him a snack right then, and don’t have access to something I’ve homemade.

While the snack was kind of hit-or-miss with my family as a whole, it was a definite hit with my son and I, which means it is definitely something I’ll buy again for us to share. They may not always win out against a brownie, but they will be an extra boost of nutrition when we’re feeling snacky for something chocolate, and a much better choice for us than some of the sugary snacks I know I sometimes resort to.

You can find out more about Kashi over on their facebook page or website. If you’re passionate about healthy, organic food and home products in your life, check out the discussions over at Moms Meet, which gives great ideas for moms so they can better add green products into their everyday lifestyle.

Do you want to try out Kashi Soft Baked Squares for yourself? Today is your lucky day! I’m doing a flash giveaway starting now, and continuing until Thursday, September 20, at 11:59pm CDT. You can enter to win a Kashi lunch tote, plus two vouchers for free Kashi products, courtesy of Kashi and Green Moms Meet, so you can try these out yourself!

All you have to do to enter is comment below telling me if you slip nutritious foods into snack time, or if not, how you’d like to. That’s it! I’ll announce the winner following that, and Green Moms Meet will send you your prizes!

 

Contest Fine Print and Disclaimer: You must be a resident of the U.S. to be eligible for the contest prize. I will contact you with the email you provided in the email box when submitting your comment below to request your address. In order to receive your prize, you must respond to this email no later than Friday, September 21 at 11:59 pm CDT. I received this product for free from the sponsor of the Moms MeetSM program, May Media Group LLC, who received it directly from the manufacturer. As a Moms MeetSM blogger, I agreed to use this product and post my opinion on my blog. My opinions do not necessarily reflect the opinions of May Media Group LLC or the manufacturer of the product.

 

3 comments

  1. I thank it sounds like a good idea but I would have to taste one before I would buy some. I need snacks that are good for you instead of what I usually grab. Thanks for your offer and I hope to get some product.

Leave a Reply

