You’re a what?

Whenever someone asks me what I do for a living, it seems like the conversation always goes a little something like this:

“So, what do you do for a living?”

“I’m a blogger.”

“…a what?”

“Like, I write, online. As my job.”

“You can actually do that? Are you just doing it while you’re in school or something? Are you going back to school?”

“I might go back to school. I’m not sure. Right now, I’m really focused on my son, and my blog, and on the opportunities I have right in front of me.”

 

A lot of people don’t understand that blogging is my career. A few people think that I’m eventually going to grow up and get a “real job” and that this blog isn’t going to amount to anything.

And, honestly, up until the past six months, I was a little bit skeptical of it myself. My blog was, at that point, only getting about 50 views a month… total. And almost every single one of those views was from family and close friends. I didn’t think that my blog could be a viable career for me at that point.

I’ve come a long way since then. This is a viable option. But that doesn’t mean I don’t feel funny when people are confused about the fact that I do this for a living.

For awhile now, I’ve been making excuses or saying “Yeah, I blog, but… I’m on maternity leave from school, so, I’m sure that’s going to take time away from it and… well… I don’t know.”

I’m here to clear the air and be completely honest.

I’m a blogger.

I’m not a student.

I might be a student again someday.

…but I might not.

My blog has afforded me a lot of opportunities, including job opportunities, that I cannot get from going back to school.

In school, I was studying marketing. I learned a little bit about marketing from school.

As a blogger, I’m still studying marketing, hands-on. And I’m learning a LOT about marketing from blogging.

Most of the jobs I’m interested in don’t require a marketing-specific degree.

 

I am not going to make excuses. I’m not going to “grow up” out of blogging. I am a blogger. I am not ashamed of that, I’m not shy about that, and I’m not going to hide behind maternity leaves or possibilities of going back to school or anything else.

If and when I decide to go back, I will. If I don’t, I already have a degree, and this was just an additional degree.

I am really proud of myself. Really proud. I’ve accomplished a lot from what used to just be a little journal for my personal thoughts. It’s now a means of connecting with people from around the world. I could not have asked for a better outlet, and I’m so glad that I chose to focus on my blog as a career. It gives me an opportunity to stay at home with my son, and to provide him with things I never could have provided him with if I had made other decisions. And you know what? I love this. I love it a heck of a lot more than I’ve ever loved any other job that I’ve had, and any other school that I’ve attended. This job is a huge part of my life. My readers are a huge part of my life. I’m not ashamed of being a blogger anymore. I’m not afraid to tell people, when they ask me, that I’m a blogger.

It’s who I am.

I live and breathe writing.

I love my job.

3 comments

  1. Yea for you. You have taught me more with your blogs than I could have possibly learned elsewhere. Thanks

Leave a Reply

