Carly Rae Jepsen’s New Song is the Story of My Life

Have you heard the adorable teeny pop song from Carly Rae Jepsen? I have to admit, I typically listen to one of two things (Christian music, or Donald Glover… I know, polar opposites). However, this song caught my attention, and I have been listening to it practically on repeat (along with We Are Young by Fun, and Somebody I used to Know by Gotye). This catchy song is just fun and happy, one of those love-at-first-sight tunes, the perfect anthem for summer.

What the song doesn’t entirely reflect is the music video, which is the part where the story of my life comes in. If you haven’t seen it yet, you should absolutely watch it below and see exactly how it fits in with my life.

First, check out the video, which happens to feature the oh-my-gosh-gorgeous Holden Nowell, a Canadian model/rapper/actor. The tattoos are fake, but even without them, he’s just adorable.

I cannot count the number of times that I have employed similar flirting techniques (although, I haven’t tried washing the car. Most likely because I’m clumsy enough that I’d actually fall off of the car like Carly does in the video, and smack my pretty little head on the pavement). I cannot count the number of hours I sat at a coffee shop, and how many drinks I purchased, trying to get the attention of the cute barista behind the counter. Long story short, he took me to an advanced screening of a movie once. After the “date,” he shook my hand. Yes, as in… literally, ended it with a handshake. It was probably the most awkward moment of my entire life.

The video ends with her heading over to give him her number, only for him to walk past her and hand his number to her male bassist. And me going out with a guy who turned out to be gay has only happened one three seven or more times. Yeah, it’s pretty bad. I’m not even exaggerating. My gaydar is that bad.

So, like I said, her video? It’s truly the story of my life. Reading a romance novel, drooling over the handsome hero, who I imagine to be just as picture-perfect as the novel is spelling out for me, and I jump through a billion and one hoops to look adorable for this guy, and all he cares about is, well, another guy (or sometimes another girl. I’m not always wrong about their sexual preferences!)

I am starting to get better. Not at attracting straight men, by any means… I’m still horrible at that. But I am getting better about not drooling over the guy and washing cars to look cute and all of that. I’m trying to feel more comfortable in my own skin. I know that when God is ready to put the right guy in my life, he will. That doesn’t mean I have to stop looking. It just means I have to stop looking so desperate.

Do you have any songs or videos that accurately describe your life? I’d love it if you shared them in the comments below!

2 comments

  1. This just made my day. So cute and funny, and I love that you’re doing better. You have all your life in front of you, but it’s good that you made those mistakes earlier in it! ❤

Leave a Reply

