A Review of Citrus Lane’s March Box: Dining Out

As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been traveling a lot lately, because I have a few family members facing some health struggles. So, when I found out that Citrus Lane’s march box would be all about Dining Out, I knew this would be the perfect box for us. After all, being gone means eating out a lot, or at least eating on the go. The picks in this month’s box were the perfect items for snacking in a car, in a restaurant, a hotel room, a hospital, or really, anywhere.

So, now, without further ado, the picks.

Itzy Ritzy Snack Happened Bag in Leopard, $9.99

Image links to the ItzyRitzy website.

I like the convenience of sandwich bags, for everything from grapes to sandwiches, but I truly hate that they get thrown away all of the time- it just feels so wasteful. It’s especially tough when we’re on the go and we’re having to use about 50,000 of them. That’s why it’s great to have this Itzy Ritzy Snack Happened bag. It’s waterproof because it’s lined with this great lining. Plus, it’s machine washable. Because it’s 7×7, it will fit a sandwich, or some grapes, or crackers, or watermelon pieces, or cantaloupe (Zach’s new favorite food)… and hey, no leaks! Plus, it’s got a zipper, which is pretty cool (and seals a lot better than a plastic bag sort of zipper, because, well, it’s an ACTUAL zipper). At first, I was a bit surprised that my son got a leopard print bag, because, well, leopard seems girly. Then, I thought about the fact that my son has all sorts of jungle animal toys to play with, and it seemed less out of place. Plus, I have a good feeling I’ll be stealing this bag quite often, and I realize that leopard is a great compromise for BOTH of us.

ZoLi On-The-Go Formula and Snack Container- $15.00

Image Linked to ZoLi website

This stackable container is so cool. We store HappyBabyFood Cheese Puffs, HappyBabyFood Yogis, Plum Organics Super Puffs, and Mini Crackers in the separate containers, and they don’t get weird (I used to put them all in a bag together. Strawberry yogis with cheese puff dust? Not so tasty). The container is small enough and stackable, so it fits in a diaper bag pretty easily, but it’s large enough to hold several snacks. Suppose you’re going on a short outing- like to church- and don’t have a ton of space. Cool, just use one of the stackable cups. Going for a longer trip? Use all four of the cups. Or, use any combination in between (the bottom cup also has threads, so you could even decide to buy a second set and stack them together, I suppose). There’s also a nice pour top so you can dispense the items right into a cup or onto a tray, easily. Big hit for us!

Ella’s Kitchen Ella’s 2 in Chick Chick Chicken Casserole and Oh-So-Creamy Chicken+Corn Mash, $2.49 each

Image linked to Ella's Kitchen website.

I’ve mentioned on many occasions that I make Zach’s purees myself, but when we are on the go, it’s hard to keep my homemade purees cold. Ella’s Kitchen pouches are great for travel. Zach has outgrown the purees (he eats finger foods now- he weaned himself), but he still enjoys them spread on other foods (for example, waffles spread with Plum Organics Mish Mash varieties), and meat varieties of baby food are AWESOME on toast, biscuits, or thin bagels! I love Ella’s Kitchen pouches because they’re organic, and I still feel good about feeding those to him, even when it isn’t feasible to bring my whole Baby Bullet system with me on a trip.

NurturMe All Natural Baby Food (3 packets- 1 apple, 2 peas) Freeze Dried Baby Food Pouches, $10.00 for an 8 pack

Image Links to the NurturMe website.

We haven’t gotten to try these out yet, but the idea of them is amazing. Basically, these pouches are just little pouches of veggies or fruits that have been quick-dried. You can then mix them with water, breastmilk, formula… any of that… to reconstitute them. Unopened packages stay good for 24 months, which make these a perfect food for power outages, travel, or even hiding the food in other foods… can you imagine adding some freeze dried peas to your family’s spaghetti sauce? Pumpkin in your macaroni and cheese? All of the nutrients of the organic veggies, without them ever knowing they’re in there. I’ll definitely be buying more of these! If you buy the 18-ct Variety Pack for your child now, they’ll also donate an 18-ct Variety Pack to Feed The Children, as well!

Weleda Almond Soothing Facial Lotion (0.17 fl. oz), $24.00 for 1 fl. oz.

Image Links to Weleda Website.

This unscented cream is pretty thick and creamy, and felt nice on my face, but as I’ve mentioned before, I think unscented things just plain smell… weird. I see the value, but I really like scents. I probably would not buy this item again- it just wasn’t my favorite, and the price is a little high for me. I can see it being really great for a lot of people! I may give my extra to a friend- she’d be a huge fan!

Weleda Almond Soothing Cleansing Lotion (0.34 fl. oz), $19.00 for 2.5 fl. oz.

Image Links to Weleda Website.

Again, not fond of the unscented “scent” on this one. It’s nice and creamy, and soothed my calloused hands, but I don’t know if I’ll continue to use it or not. It’s a really good cream, and I know a lot of people would love it, but I personally am not a huge fan.

Final Thoughts:

This box is still a huge value (my guess, factoring in the slightly less-than-full-size Weleda creams is somewhere around $40). It is filled with things I will use (like the ItzyRitzy bag, the ZoLi container, the Ella’s Kitchen, and the NurturMe). The Weleda was really the only thing I didn’t care about, but honestly, the box was SO great that it really did rock my socks. Plus, in addition to it’s value already, there are several coupons inside for more Ella’s Kitchen and NurturMe items!

Citrus Lane continues to always take themselves above and beyond the call of duty. Their customer service is amazing. Their company is amazing. The products they give are green, they’re kid friendly, and they’re typically organic. I love that I can feel good about the products that they offer. There is nothing better than being able to give my son something knowing their company cares about his well-being and health almost as much as I do. I’m very picky about the things that I let my son eat, and Citrus Lane seems to be just as picky as I am, always selecting the best options for him.

This company has only been around since July, but truly, they have been growing very well. They take care of their customers and love us intensely. The whole team is just fantastic!

If you’re interested in joining CitrusLane and getting a month’s box for yourself, click on my CitrusLane logo in the sidebar, or go to http://www.citruslane.com/invitedby/Jennifer.Schoenberger and you can join, too! You’ll want in on April’s box- it’s all about Bath and Bedtime! Oh, and sign up quickly, because last month, Citrus Lane sold out of all of their boxes before the ship date!

If you have any questions, you can totally email me, or post in the comments. Or, Marcella from the Citrus Lane Social Media team can respond to you on Twitter and Facebook! Trust me, you want this box.

4 comments

    1. I highly recommend you sign up- it is so worth the money. If you know of any other moms who would love CitrusLane, you can get a discount on your next box by referring them, so I’ve gotten many of my boxes very affordably by referring friends of mine!

      If you don’t like it, the worst case is that you can cancel your subscription at any time. If you love it, though, (and trust me, you will), you’ll be able to stay subscribed! I know it’s become a part of my son and I’s life, and we will continue to subscribe until he outgrows the boxes in a couple of years.

    1. I am so glad you guys loved your first box! I know that Zach and I look forward to getting ours every month… each time after we get it, I count the days until the next box, but luckily, there is plenty in each box to keep us entertained for a long time while we wait!

Leave a Reply

