A Little Honesty- Why I Missed Blogging For Awhile

Anyone who checks my blog regularly (hello? Bueller? Bueller?) knows that I have been away for a couple of weeks. You’ll notice that the primary topics of my blog tend to be parenting, homeschooling, and the brands or companies I love. Here’s why I chose not to post the past couple of weeks.

1) Time. Parenting takes time. If I miss posting a blog because I am curled up on the couch watching Sesame Street with Zach, then I’m not too worried about it. If I miss a blog post because Zach is teething and running a fever and just wants to be held? What about when he’s decided that chocolate pudding is the coolest thing in the whole wide world and wants to rub his hands, his mouth, and even his eyebrows? Well, all of that is going to come before blogging. I hate to do that to my readers, but… I think everyone will understand!

2) Homeschooling is a great adventure for our family. Since we started in January, we’ve really found ways to make it fit our family. We have a lot of fun, and we really enjoy our homeschooling. But I’m going to be honest. There’s burnout. There’s frustrations. There’s days where Jeffrey doesn’t want to do a particular subject. There are days when I just want to get up from the table and go back to bed. We work through it, and all in all, we’ve had a lot of amazing days homeschooling- any homeschool family will tell you that you’ll hit periods of burnout. Right now, we’ve been spending a lot of time re-tweaking our system, which means I haven’t had as much time to blog about homeschooling because I spend my evenings deciding exactly how we’re going to shake things up. It takes time, which means that there’s less time in the day to blog.

3) We’re at a between-point in the month. It’s hard to post about Citrus Lane when you already received one and haven’t received the next. While I’m constantly working at trying new brands to bring reviews straight to you, I am still in the works with some companies and didn’t have anything to review.

So, honestly, I know from a blogger standpoint, there ARE things I could have been blogging about (my sudden writers block, scrappers block, Zach’s favorite Sesame Street videos on youtube, the posts about Friendship Bread that I’ve been meaning to post for 2 months now and still haven’t…) but I didn’t. I didn’t post about about any of those things. I know, it’s silly. I should have. But I didn’t.

 

And to be honest with you, it’s okay. It’s okay that I didn’t blog about those things. It’s okay that I’ve been away. Because honestly, I think you’d rather see my passion flow through on my blog, than have me post some posts with my heart not in it.

I think I’m back. I hope I’m back. I hope I’m in the groove to blog again. But I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

 

How do you deal with writer’s or blogger’s block?

Leave a Reply

