Only 10 Things

Mom and I were talking the other day. She said that sometimes, she just wishes someone would come and say, “I want to buy your house. As-is, but I want it now. I’ll give you good money for it. But, you only have time to go and get 10 things from each room. That’s the rule. The other rule is that you can take half of your clothing, but only half, and that similar items count together (like, all of the computers in the office count as 1 item).” At first, I thought this would be really hard. I’m a very sentimental person, VERY sentimental. I have trouble throwing something away, especially if it has some sort of emotional attachment there for me. But I thought about it, I mean, seriously considered it. If mom’s scenario, no matter how far-fetched or impossible, were to come true, we would receive enough money in the deal to replace anything we were leaving behind (furniture, clothing, etc). The only thing would be that it is a clean start.

Here are my lists:

My Room

1) My computer and hard drives (I have two external drives for back up)

2) My camera (a Nikon D5000 DSLR that I’m in love with)

3) My books. I could even part with half of them, but a good chunk of my books.

4) My kindle. I couldn’t part with my kindle.

5) My Scentsy stuff.

6) My mini-fridge and microwave.

7) Gallstone Garth (my bear that I got when my mom was in the hospital. I have a serious attachment to him).

8) My turtle and his tank.

That’s right. When I truly, really thought about it, I couldn’t come up with 10 things. At all. That’s okay… the rules say that I can take less than 10, but I always thought, amidst the serious clutter in my room, that I’d die if I had to part with more.

Zach’s Room

1) His crib. It’s my dream crib for him, a convertible one that will go from a crib, to a toddler bed, to a daybed, to a full-sized bed. It’s the crib I wanted from the beginning, from before the beginning, and I can’t imagine another bed for him. I even put it together myself.

2) His changing table. I painted it orange to match his bedding, and I love it. It’s just… perfect.

3) His books. I couldn’t see parting with his books. Each one has a story or a reason behind why I love it so much.

4) Some of his toys. I could even part with a few of them, but not all of them. Some of them, I want to keep.

5) MAYBE the blue couch. It’s the first piece of furniture that was really “mine.” Someone gave it to me, and it traveled from my old apartment. I have yet to have the nerve up to part with it, but if I could find a good replacement, I would.

The Kitchen

1) My yonanas maker. I love that thing!

2) My Baby Bullet.

3) My Magic Bullet.

4) The really awesome high-powered blender my parents have.

5) My toaster.

My Storage

Let me just note that my storage has been down there so long, that I don’t even remember what half of it is, so a lot of it, I could stand to part with.

1) My George Foreman Grill. I love it.

2) My bread machine… I need to find it!

3) Some of my dishes, but I could part with several, too.

4) My glassware.

That’s it. Out of the whole house, that’s all I’d really care to keep if I had a good offer and the knowledge that I could replace everything else.

There are a few other sentimental items I’d love to grab, of course… my ballerina snowglobe, the Grandmother and Grandfather bear figurines I’ve had forever, my Annie Doll I had as a child… But really, that’s it. There’s not much that I couldn’t live without. Not at all. Even a lot of Zach and I’s clothing, I could eliminate.

 

So why don’t I? Why have I not pruned all of this? Why am I having trouble parting with all but my 10, and the essential furniture that I can’t afford to replace right now?

No idea. But I think it’s coming time to do a good amount of Spring Cleaning.

One comment

  1. I think I could do even less then 10. As long as I have my kids, pets and spouse all I really would want is pictures.

Leave a Reply

