What Makes a Good Blog?

I got into a conversation with a friend yesterday. She told me that she didn’t have a blog because she wasn’t interesting, and really, what would she have to say?

She and I then got talking about what really makes a blog, anyway… and this is kind of what the conversation led to.

1) What are you interested in? Where is your heart? Your passions? Are you awesome with a glue gun? A proud parent? A person who homeschools? A woman or man of faith? What do you love to do? Your passions, the things you have a heart for, the things you do well… that’s where a blog starts.

2) Now that you know WHAT to write about it, how often do you want to blog? Readers like bloggers who… you know, actually post. Obviously, when I don’t post for awhile, my readership drops to nothing. But the past few days, when I’ve been posting often? Boom! Readers. You get readers by asking your friends who blog to read your blog (in exchange, you’ll read theirs). You get them by posting your blog link to Twitter and Facebook. You get blog viewers by blogging about things search about a lot… I did a whole post about home decor products I love from Urban Outfitters, and I get a TON of people coming to my blog each week, looking for decor ideas on Google. I blogged about ShayCarl, a youtube vlogger I absolutely love, and I get a lot of people who google him coming to my blog post about him. I blogged about those topics because I’m passionate about them, but surprisingly, other people are, too. It gets you viewers. Once you have a few viewers who like what you have to offer, more and more will come to you. A select few will stick around and keep reading what you post. Don’t worry if you don’t get 100 views on your first post. I don’t get 100 viewers on 90% of what I post. Someday, you’ll get views, but it takes a persistent effort. Anyway, posting schedules. Some people post every day. Some people post every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday like clockwork. Some people just like to post 3 out of the 7 days in a week, whenever they happen to fall. Some people post weekly. Or, some people are blabbermouths like me, and blog multiple times in a day. Post when you like, but keep in mind the more often or more regularly you post (every day, every Monday, every other day), the more your readers will come back to see what you have to say– when you post on a set schedule, they’ll know when new content is available, and they’ll come read it.

3) Respond, respond, respond! Commenters are the best. They really are the heart of the blog. The people who comment are your blog are there to interact with, if you’ll only do it. I can be completely honest in saying, I don’t respond to every comment. I do READ every comment, though, and take it to heart. And, more than just reading, I try to respond to as much as I can. I’ve openly posted my email address on here. When people email me, I try my best to email them back. When people I know in real life comment on my blog, I try to make a point to tell them “thank you,” in real life. I try to let them know I appreciate their readership, because truly, I DO. I appreciate when someone takes time out to read the silly things I have to say, and more when they take the time to comment on it and tell me that they like what I have to say. A genuine comment can totally lift a sucky day.

Now. I don’t want to hear that you don’t have anything to talk about- everyone has SOMETHING to talk about. And if you blog, please, leave me a link, and I will check out your blog. πŸ™‚

5 comments

  1. You have some good things to say about blogging. When you respond to a commenter, do you do that on your blog, do you visit their blog and comment, or both? I’m never sure what to do.

    1. Honestly, it depends. Sometimes both. If someone asks me a direct question, I usually respond here, rather than on their blog. When someone comments, if they leave their blog link, I try to visit their blog- I don’t always comment there, but I always try to visit!

  2. definitely some great points here. Totally agree with them all. I dont overly care if noone reads my blog, its mainly just for me to record stories about my brats. But a comment here and there is always nice!!!!!!
    As for the posting schedule, Im like you, bit of a blabbermouth too! I can go on forever about nothing. Im sure thats why i was good at english essays in highschool! haha. Im really trying to get back into blogging (as opposed to facebooking) this year.

  3. Great tips on blogging!! In follow-up to Kate, I often visit blogs of those who have visited mine, and will sometimes leave a comment if something catches my eye, but at least they know I’ve acknowledged them by the visit. I’m not sure if it’s enough, but it’s what I can manage on most days πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

