I did it!

I finally broke down and shelled out the money to get a DSLR. This means, photos I’ve already taken aside, you will hopefully start seeing better quality photographs from me.

I looked at several cameras and took hundreds of recommendations into consideration, and finally chose the camera I thought would be my best bet… a Nikon D5000. It has ISO 3200, so it is a nice low light camera, and it also shoots 4.5 frames per second by holding down the shutter, which means it’s incredible for action shots.

It also has a live action screen so I don’t have to look through the viewfinder if I choose not to, and full manual adjustability as I learn how to use my camera better.

It seems to have a decent learning curve, but isn’t as complicated as a Canon, so it seems like the perfect camera for someone who is not really planning on being a pro photographer necessarily, but does want a high powered SLR camera.

I’m so so so excited about my purchase, and I’ve taken a couple of test shots today! I can’t wait for the fireworks display tonight, where hopefully I’ll get some awesome shots.

Overall, the purchase was way way way expensive. I mean… ridiculous expensive. Because I couldn’t just buy the camera. I needed a UV filter, a bag, a high speed memory card… you get the picture. I bought the essentials today, but I’m already making a list of other things I’d love to have. For example, a tripod, a nice telephoto lens, a mid-range zoom lens, UV filters for all of those, a spare battery… you get the picture.

Have you made any extravagant purchases lately? I know we’re in a recession, and I should sometimes hold back on the major purchases. For the most part, I do. But at the same time, I’ve wanted one of these since I was in 6th grade. If not now, never.

Leave a Reply

