Trying to get serious…

Okay, I need to get serious. About a lot of things. Two things right now? Blogging, and weight loss.

I know I tried to get serious about weight loss earlier in the year, but lack of companionship in terms of loss really dragged me down. And I’m ready to hop on the bandwagon with the help of some scrapping pals.

I weighed myself today. At first, I was afraid of throwing the numbers out there, but you know what? How else am I going to track my progress? If I’m THAT ashamed of who I am, maybe it IS time for a change. My high weight, in January, was 214. I am at 209 right now.

I know that a healthy weight for me would be around 140-155. But rather than telling myself “You need to lose 65 pounds” I want to tell myself that 19 is a good starting point. Losing 19 pounds would take me from a BMI in the Obese range, to a BMI in the Overweight range. It won’t be perfect, but it’ll be a start, and I think I’ll be more motivated then to create more goals to get myself down to a lower weight.

Here are my big goals:

-Every day that it’s nice out, I’m going for a walk. Last night, we made it two blocks. I hope to stick around the two block mark until my knees feel like they can handle adding a third block.

-Instead of the one regular sized candy bar a day habit I had been on, I’d like to cut it down to one fun size candy bar per day.

-I want to limit my night time snacking. At this point, I’m not going to make myself eliminate it completely, but I think cutting it down from 6 days a week to 3 days a week is a starting point, and will help my body realize “Hey, you may have a growling tummy, but guess what? You survived!”

My big thing right now is focusing on little changes. Every time I’ve tried to lose weight before, I’ve jumped in with a lot of huge changes. And failed. And fallen off the bandwagon for a long time. And gained more weight than my starting weight. So starting now, starting today, it’s time to work on fitting in those awesome size 15 shorts by vacation. For those of you who don’t know, I’m a size 18-20 right now. I honestly do think it’s do-able. I really do.

Leave a Reply

