Pleasure vs Pain

The other day I was watching my favourite youtube star, ShayCarl, and he had some wise words to share about the concept of pain vs. pleasure. He was sharing about how he struggles with weight loss because the pain doesn’t yet outweigh the pleasure. After all, he can lift people over his head, he can do all kinds of stuff. He still seems quite healthy. He said “The pleasure of me eating the food doesn’t yet outweigh the pain, because it’s not like I’m huffing and puffing to do things like go on a walk- I mean, I can lift people over my head, and workout and all kinds of other crazy stuff.” And he’s right, you have to be to that phase where the pleasure outweighs the pain.

I’m going to be quite honest. I am not sure how this whole weight loss thing actually IS going to work for me. I mean, yeah, I want it, and yes, I would like to lose some weight. But if I really truly think about the pain/pleasure principle, Shay is right. I mean, when I look in the mirror, I don’t think “ick.” I think “Wow, I have a decent sized waist.” When I measured myself last, I was a perfect hourglass. So why on earth would I be displeased aside from a little tummy/thigh/arm jiggle? The only real “pain” I have is I hate being photographed, especially next to people who are thinner than me. Lol! I love food- I really truly do. So right now, who knows how the pain/pleasure thing will work. Obviously I’m still going to give this a go. Obviously I’m still going to try. But you have to see this also from the perspective of… I’m not sure my pain is outweighing my pleasure just yet. I just have to keep thinking about vacation, and how even if it isn’t right now when I’m in my sweaters, it probably will by the time I reach the beach, and I don’t want it to be too late then.

One comment

  1. I know what you mean. I want to be thinner but that bag of chips is calling my name. I am tired when I get off work so do I go home and cook a healty meal or just stop at Taco Bell?? I need help.

    Grandma

Leave a Reply

