Not-so-new-year’s Resolution

Hey, I know my posts have been few and far between lately. I honestly am dealing with a lot of personal drama that I feel is, quite frankly, a bit TOO personal for internet (is there such a thing?!)

Anyway, I just wanted to update you all on a new goal of mine. I’ve decided NOT to let this be a New Year’s Resolution, because when I make a goal for the whole year, it usually lasts about two weeks. So I’m going to set a “kind-of” goal for the whole year, but break it down into monthly chunks.

My goal for the whole year is to be back in my size 16 jeans. Right now, I can’t even get the poor things zipped, so they’ve been sitting in my closet. What used to be my “fat pants” (my size 18s) are now my “Oh my gosh! I have to suck it in big time!” pants. I find myself living in sweatpants more often than not, just so I can breathe.

I’m sick of resorting to sweatpants as my everyday wear. I want my body back!

So I’ve started a goal to actually do it. And since I don’t think I’ll be able to accomplish my year long goal without chunking it into manageable bites… I want to set a goal each month, and stick to it.

I’m giving myself one rule, and one rule only. Any exercise I do, must be completely FREE. That means no gyms, no fitness centers, no Y memberships… none of that. I cannot hire nutritionists, buy exercise books, or buy low-everything cookbooks. It has to be completely free. I cannot spend a dime on my weightloss goal (aside from the fact that I will, obviously, have to buy food occasionally, but in that area, it will be a process of replacing my beloved Star Crunch with bagged salads, so that doesn’t count as “spending money.”) Why spend a whole bunch of money on losing the weight, when I can better apportion that money to the new clothes I will want to buy when I reach that goal?

There are so many options out there for weight loss that don’t require money. After all, I live less than 5 minutes from a library (which has an extensive collection of workout videos and books, as well as cookbooks- all available for 3 week rentals, plus up to 3 renewals), and I have internet access, all of which can effectively help me reach my goals.

So. It’s time to get fit, and, in the words of my favourite youtube blogger Shaycarl, I’m going to “lose that extra.”

This requires me to set my smaller February goal. In the month of February, I want to lose 4 pounds. There are 4 weeks in February, meaning I should be going for around a pound per week.

So that’s the plan! I’ll keep you updated.

2 comments

  1. I’d be quite interested to see how to do losing weight for free. Not because I don’t think it can be done, but because it’s a different outlook on how to do it.

    Walking is always free, walk round, see some sights, maybe even get some cool photos when you are out and about.

    With the internet and being so close to a library, you will have easy access to all the information you need.

    I think splitting things down into monthly goals is a really good idea, this way you can track everything easier and won’t be able to say “but the results are for over the year”.

    Good luck.

  2. Well, I wish you luck on your plan. I wish I had your will power. But I am going to try to follow your plan also. I want to be thinner for the beach. I will still be fat but it would be nice to know I was losing wieght even if no one else could tell.
    Love uuu and thanks for the suggestion.

Leave a Reply

