TMI WARNING

I’m going to start right off saying PLEASE do not read this if you don’t want to know some possibly graphic information regarding my pregnancy. You are more than welcome to skip past all of this and pretend this post never happened, but I wanted to share my very real concern with you, in the hopes that it may help someone else. I will keep everyone updated on anything more I find out.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

My slight (okay, MAJOR) scare

So I am about 11 weeks pregnant (11 weeks, 3 days). Last night, I started experiencing some rather intense cramping in my lower abdomen, mostly when I changed positions. I was feeling rather… full… and had had some diarrhea as well as constipation earlier in the evening. I was nervous, yes, but I assumed it was gas, as well as some ligament pain. I tried to ignore it and went to bed.

Bear in mind, I have NEVER had period cramping. I don’t know what it feels like, as I simply have not had it. My experience with it is limited to others- I have one friend who has trouble even attending classes because her cramps are so severe, and another who has some discomfort, but is otherwise feeling okay. So honestly, when I looked up my cramping online this evening (it had been gone all day, with the exception of at one point I was lying down and moved to a sitting position, and briefly felt the cramping again, but it seemed to return mysteriously around 10:00pm, about the same time it had initially appeared the night before). Mind you, the cramping generally only was severe when I was sitting, but was much more mild when I was lying down.

I did some online research and all of the websites said that if it was like period cramping, it was normal. Well that doesn’t help! I’ve never had a period cramp! I don’t know what one feels like… so I kept searching. Everything said that cramps are generally normal unless they are accompanied by spotting, fever, and chills. Checked my temperature… no fever. I knew I wasn’t having chills… and I then had to use the toilet, so I checked, and freaked out… there was a small dot (not even larger than the size of a ball point pen tip) of blood. I panicked. I wiped again, even less, but I still noticed it. One more wipe and there was nothing. I decided to put a pad in so I could monitor the blood. I felt like calling my doctor over blood the size of a ball point pen tip (smaller!) was a little bit too soon to be panicking. Well, when I had to use the restroom again, I checked again. My pad had nothing in it, at ALL. I wiped again… nothing. Decided to wipe a second time, and thought I saw it. So finally, I thought, you know what? I’m going to get a mirror and see if I can see anything. I felt that this bleeding was more consistent with a sore or a tear, than it was with actual pregnancy spotting (though, I haven’t ever experienced spotting…). I got a mirror, and looked, and sure enough, there was a slight tear, with a little bit of blood. I pressed a piece of toilet paper to it, and used another to wipe- the one I used to wipe had nothing on it. The one pressed against the sore had… blood about the size of a ball point pen tip. Turns out that I probably just had a sore from being in the bathroom non-stop, that seemed to just want to open up a little bit.

As far as I can tell, the cramping seems to be gas related. Every website I read seemed to say that if it subsided when you were standing or walking, it was gas related. They also said that, in the areas I’m experiencing my cramping, it could be round ligament pain, and the fact that my cervix is stretching to accommodate the baby. So far, it seems that many people have said that my cramping is basically normal.

I’ve been taking notes of what has happened, and I do plan to tell my doctor on Friday when I have my appointment. Meanwhile, I do have a pad in to continue to monitor any sort of bleeding I may experience that is unrelated to my random sore, so I can call my doctor if I see any. I just wanted to let people know because it is sometimes hard to find information online about cramping and bleeding in the 11th week, especially advice that isn’t as doom and gloom. I’m definitely going to keep an eye on things, and keep praying, but my advice if you have VERY minimal, NOT related to spotting bleeding, I’d check it out and see if you can find anything.

Leave a Reply

