Julie and Julia

Now I must say, I have had quite a hard time reading the book Julie and Julia. Unfortunately, throughout the book, I have found Julie to be a whiny, annoying, ungrateful little snot, and it’s so hard to read her writing! Plus, her use of foul language is appalling. (I can see why Julia Child wasn’t a fan…). But I did decide to watch the movie, because it just looked so fantastic, and I do love Amy Adams, Meryl Streep, and Stanley Tucci so much!

Now the movie, it was FANTASTIC! I absolutely loved it- a complete gem. Much better than the book. I think a good portion of that is because there was a lot less language (I think once Julia Child made a sexual joke, and again after the publisher didn’t want to publish her book, after eight years of trying, her husband understood her frustration and used the F word). Additionally, it didn’t have so much of Julie’s whiny tone, as half of the movie centered around Julia Child herself.

I will say, it was fantastic seeing Meryl Streep and Stanley Tucci work together again after The Devil Wears Prada- absolutely divine acting! I love both of them so much, and to have them portray this married couple that was so in love, was a pleasure to watch. If you have the opportunity to watch this film, I highly suggest it- it is far better than the book, in my opinion. Or at least, I’m assuming it will be, provided I finish the book at some point.

I will make one negative comment towards the movie. At the end of the movie it is talking about when Paul and Julia Child passed away, mentioned that Julie Powel got a book published… and then said

“Her book was turned into a movie.”

…oh really? I had no idea! Because, y’know, I didn’t spend the last two hours watching the movie based on her book or anything. Heavens! Did they really find it necessary to include that?

I will also make a comment about the previews on the DVD (I rented it, by the way). Fabulous! I believe I want to see them all. Mind you, I had already watched the trailers online for all of these movies, but here are some of them on there:

-Did You Hear About the Morgans? If you haven’t seen a preview for this, you should look it up on Hulu. It’s about this married couple who isn’t in love anymore (or at least, she isn’t). One night, after a dinner where they are working on either reconciling or splitting, they witness a murder and have to go into the witness protection program together. In their obviously rocky relationship, Sarah Jessica Parker’s character says to the cop suggesting they relocate into the program, “I don’t know if I can commit to spending the rest of my life with my husband.” Ha! All in all, looks like a good romantic comedy.

-Ice Castles. This movie looks SO good, in that crazy-sad-uplifting kind of way. This girl is a rising star in figure skating, the crowd loves her, she’s very talented… and then she hits her head and goes blind. But someone convinces her to keep trying to skate. It just looks like a superb movie about overcoming obstacles!

-Coco Before Chanel. Now, if you know me, you know I’m a huge fan of foreign film, and one of my favourite rising stars of foreign film is Audrey Tautou. She is a phenomenal actress. She was in the movie Priceless, and now she is going to play one of my favourite designers of all time… Coco Chanel! I am absolutely thrilled to see this film and learn more about the life of Chanel, before she was the fashion icon we know today. With such a talented actress portraying her, I know it will be fabulous!

There are so many movies that I’d like to see, or that I just have yet to see and feel I must see them. On my list are New Moon and Brothers, but I know if I see Brothers I’ll bawl my eyes out and make a scene in the theatre. It’s rarely a good idea to make a scene, you know.

Anyway, looks like it’s about bed time for me. Bon appetit! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

